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SEO Definitions

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SEO Dictionary. Definitions of some SEO terms vary depending on who you ask. This guide does not include all of the SEO Terms and Definitions you may encounter, but we have included the most common SEO Definitions for you so you can understand more about SEO. Our definitions may be a little different than those on other websites. We have made an effort to make these SEO Definitions understandable to those who are not in the SEO Business.

If there are SEO Terms and Definitions you would like to see added to this SEO Dictionary or you have something to add or a comment to make about the way we define an SEO Term, please contact us here.
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Above The Fold Definition - The portion of your website visitors see without having to use the scrollbar. This is the most important real estate in your webpage and where you need to grab the reader's attention. The main goals you have or the main services or products you sell should be located above the fold.

301 Redirect Definition - Code written into the htaccess file or robots.txt that tells the search engine spider that a web page has moved to another location permanently. Very helpful to redirect all the traffic going to an existing page to a different page. The original page can then be discarded.

Adsense Definition - Contextual Advertising Service provided by Google. Ads are displayed on your website based on the keywords in your web pages. Google pays Adsense publishers a portion of the amount they charge advertisers for each click on one of the ads appearing in your web page.

Adwords Definition - Pay Per Click Advertising through Google. When you become an adwords advertiser, you create text, image, or video ads and bid on the keywords that are associated with your ads. You can choose to have your ads appear on websites through the content network or just in search engine results pages controlled by Google.

Affiliate Marketing Definition - Where a Sponsor creates an Affiliate Program that people can sign up for. If you sign up to promote an Affiliate Program, you are the Affiliate. The purpose for the sponsor is to gain more exposure and branding while also generating leads and sales through their Affiliate's websites, email campaigns, and pay-per-click advertising among other methods used by Affiliates to drive traffic to the Affiliate Program Sponsor. Affiliates are sometimes paid for the number of hits they send to a Sponsor's website and/or paid a commission for each sale that occurs because the affiliate sent them that customer. There is a lot more that can be said about Affiliate Marketing and all of the variations, but this should give you a general idea about how affiliate marketing works. If you need help with Affiliate Marketing, we have someone who specializes in that area. You can call us at 786-317-8774 or use this form to email us for a free consultation.

Algorithm Definition - The ever-changing mathematical formula used by search engines to calculate the relevance of a web page to a particular search phrase or keyword. Google, Yahoo, and others hold their algorithm as a closely guarded secret so beware of SEO companies that claim to they know Google or Yahoo's algorithm.

Alt Tag Definition - Attribute added to the code that makes an image appear on your website. If your image did not load for a user, the alt tag would read as text to tell the user what should be there. Alt Tags in images help search engines know what keywords your image is related to. Adding Alt Tags to your images can help with search engine optimization, but overstuffing them with keywords can hurt you. It's best to choose one key phrase for each image.

Anchor Text Definition - The text you see that represents a link to another website or web page. Many of these say CLICK HERE. For search engine optimization purposes it is better to use anchor text that contains keywords associated with the web page you are sending users to.

Article Marketing Definition - Writing articles on topics that interest the same target audience that buys your product or service or writing authoritative articles that help establish you as an expert in your field. Then distributing those articles through Article Directories for syndication, reprint, or reuse on other websites, blogs, newsgroups, and newsletters or ezines. When your articles are reprinted on other websites and blogs, the links in the author bio or resource box that go to your website are included. That means the website or blog that reprinted your article now links to you. Article Marketing is a great way to build link popularity and even to build more traffic to your website. Article Marketing also helps you with image building and branding. Need Articles or Content written for you?

Article Submissions Definition - Websites that use Article Directory Software like Article Dashboard accept articles people to submit to them and offer that content for syndication or reprint by other webmasters or website owners. There are usually guidelines and an approval process. Article Content Provider will submit your articles for you and even write them for you if you need a ghostwriter.

Authoritative Link Definition - Wikipedia.com has become the authoritative site for many key phrases because so many people link to it when talking about topics that are covered by Wikipedia. An authoritative link is not one that is placed in the blogroll of a blog, the sidebar or top navigation of a webpage. An example of creating an authoritative link would be writing content in your blog, website, or article and within that content writing something like, "according to suchandsuch.com" or "from thisorthat.com" as a source for your information. These types of links to your website are much more valuable than links added to blog rolls or website navigation. If enough people link to your website that way, your website may become an authoritative website for a particular key phrase.

Authoritative Website Definition - When a website or webpage becomes a source that many people link to because of the content, that web page or website becomes authoritative for that particular type of information or for information associated with a particular key phrase. People generally think there are only a few authoritative web pages or websites like wikipedia.com. In reality, there can be an unlimited number of authoritative web pages on the Internet. For every specific key phrase you can think of, a particular web page or website can be the authority for that search term. For example: In Google typing the phrase, Article Content Provider, you will see the first result is for ArticleContentProvider.com. You will see that not only is it number 1, it also has an index of different pages in that website. If you were to type in another key phrase and that same website comes up in the results, it will not have those additional links to individual pages within that website. That means that website is the authority for the first key phrase, but not for other key phrases.

Backlink Definition - Links from other websites to your website or webpage. Having a high number of links to your web pages will help you rank higher in the search engines for your keywords. Natural backlinks are those that occur because someone finds your content useful to their visitors and links to you for free just for the value you provide their visitors. Because backlinks are so important, many companies began to just buy text links everywhere they could. Google and possibly other search engines have now caught up with paid links and will not count those links toward your link popularity if they know or suspect it is a paid link. Sitewide links (Links on every page of a website linking to you) are also discounted. Link Bait, Viral Marketing, and other methods of gaining those important backlinks are constantly being employed to varying degrees of success and the best methods for gaining links is always open for debate. However, natural backlinks that you get because you have a great service or source for information remain the number one way to gain backlinks. It may not happen as fast, but those links are never discounted by the search engines. Need help building quality links to your website? click here, or call us at 786-317-8774.

Bad Neighborhood Definition - Linking to websites that offer porn, that are malicious in nature such as phishing websites, linking to spam websites or splogs, linking to websites that use blackhat seo techniques, or even linking to websites that link to these bad neighborhoods can hurt you. These are bad neighborhoods. Don't link to websites unless you are sure they are related to your content and you are sure they use legitimate seo tactics. You can't control who links to you, but you can control who you link to. Bad neighborhood can also be associated with your hosting provider. If your web hosting service also hosts websites that are bad neighborhoods and you end up on the same server or same IP Block, you can be seen as being in a bad neighborhood and your search engine rankings can be affected through association with bad neighborhood websites without even knowing it. Our dedicated servers and shared hosting plans ensure that your website will always be in a good neighborhood. Learn more about SEO Website Hosting here or call us at 786-317-8774.

Blog Platform Definition - There are several platforms for blogging. There are free services like blogger.com and wordpress.com, but these are subject to use primarily by spammers. There are legitimate blogs on blogger and wordpress.com, but there are so many splogs, (spam blogs), being created on them everyday since they are free, we do not recommend them. There is free software like wordpress from wordpress.org, (not to be confused with wordpress.com), that you can download and host on your own domain name. Wordpress blogs tend to get great search engine rankings for the keywords you target in your blog. There are others such as LiveJournal and TypePad, but we recommend wordpress for SEO reasons. If you need help installing your own wordpress blog, visit Blog Content Provider.

Blogging Definition - Blog is short for Weblog and blogging has been around for many years. In the early days, most were personal journals, but blogging has changed dramatically over the past few years. There are still a lot of personal blogs on the web and more being created everyday, but now there are also many blogs of a more commercial nature. See below for some more blogging definitions. These are by far not the only types of blogs, not to mention video and audio blogs or podcasting. You can get an ebook that explains more about blogging here.

Corporate Blog Definition - Corporate blogs give corporations a voice to communicate with investors, customers, and even their employees and affiliates. Some companies have internal blogs on their intranet for announcements. So now it's hard to claim you didn't get the memo. It's on the company blog.

Business Blog Definition - Business blogs are different from corporate blogs. A business blog can be created in several ways for several different purposes. A business can set up a blog to communicate with customers, primarily focusing on bringing attention to new products, new services, special offers, etc. A business blog can be created to attract new customers by focusing on topics that are of interest to their target audience. A home appliance company might start a blog about home repair for instance. People interested in home repair also buy appliances. For complete blog management services click here.

SEO Blog Definition - An SEO Blog is one that is more focused on getting ranked well for specific keywords in the search engines and is usually created on its own domain name rather than being installed in your existing website. Doing so attracts users who type in those specific key phrases and some of that traffic to the blog will filter through to the website creating another source for traffic for your business. Adding a blog to your website and posting to it daily means adding fresh keyword-rich content to your website every day. This brings the search engine bots back to your website more often, increases the number of pages indexed by the search engine, which in turn increases the chances of someone finding your website. We write your seo blog for you every day and use social bookmarking to build links and traffic.

Blog and Ping - Automatically sending a signal to blog search websites like Technorati.com to let them know that new content has been posted and is available to searchers at their website. Wordpress blogs do this automatically although it does not ping all of the sites that can be pinged or notified.

Blogroll Definition - A list of links in the sidebar of a blog, usually to the blogger's favorite blogs or related content of interest to their readers. Can also be used to link to pages within your own websites that your readers may find of interest or that you wish to promote.

Call-To-Action Definition - What you ask your website visitors to do. Your goals can be defined as getting someone to subscribe to a newsletter or service, getting them to join or buy a membership, asking them to make a purchase, asking them to fill out a form, or something else entirely. The call to action is wherever you are asking them to do the action you want them to take. Figuring out where to place calls to action in your webpages is likely the most important thing you will do. SEO Professionals and Internet Marketing Consultants can help you with this. Our Content Writers know how to optimize your website content and improve sales by placing these calls to action where they should be. Use our Content Quote Request Form or call us at 786-317-8774 for more information.

CTR or Click-through-rate Definition - The number of times your link is clicked VS the number of impressions or views.

Cloaking Definition - Where different content is shown to the search engine than actual users see. This is a grayhat seo term. I say that because there are a few legitimate uses for cloaking such as a website that is next to impossible to optimize due to flash or other elements of website design. However, most cloaking is done to trick search engines into ranking them for content they do not have and is a blackhat seo technique to be avoided.

Contextual Link Advertising Definition - Also called Contextual Link Inventory. These are ads that are displayed based on the content of the web page they are displayed on. The success of a contextual ad campaign relies on the webpage containing original relevant content. Adsense by Google is one of many contextual ad programs you can use.

Conversion Rate Definition - The number of visitors to your webpage VS the number of visitors who did what you asked them to do with your call to action. Example: Your goal is to get the visitors to your website to fill out a survey or contact form to generate leads for your business. Your web page has had 500 unique visitors this week. 50 people filled out the form or survey. Your conversion rate is 1 in 10.

CPC or Cost-Per-Click Definition - The amount of money you paid for an ad or for the keywords associated with an ad in an ad network divided by the number of people who clicked your link. Example: You bought an ad on a website for $500. You received 1000 visitors from that ad. Your cost per click would be 50 cents.

CPM or Cost-Per-Thousand Definition - The number of people who saw your ad VS the number of people who clicked it. Example: You purchased an ad on a website for $1000. 50,000 people saw that ad. Your CPM was $20. Number of impressions divided by 1000, then the amount you paid for the ad divided by that.

Deep Linking Definition - Every page in your website has the potential to be the first page a visitor sees. If someone links to a particular page in your website rather than just your domain name or main index page, then the person following that link arrives on an interior page of your site. All pages in your website should be built as if it could be the first page someone sees. Each page has its own link popularity as well. Link popularity applies to web pages not just websites. Our Content Writers make every page a landing page that closes sales.

Feed Aggregator Definition - Hosted software that collects feeds from various sources and displays it in a single consolidated view. It can be delivered to a window on your desktop or in your Web browser. A Newsreader is a feed aggregator.

Google Sandbox Definition - Like Santa Clause and the Tooth Fairy, it really exists.

Hits Definition - The number of views a website or web page gets, including images, scripts, and everything. The number of hits your website gets is not really relevant to SEO or marketing. The number of unique visits is way more important.

HTML Definition - (Hypertext Markup Language) is the set of markup symbols or codes inserted in a file intended for display on a World Wide Web browser page. The markup tells the Web browser how to display a Web page's words and images for the user. Pages created in HTML are easier to optimize for the search engines than those coded in any other language. Many people say they are creating html pages for you, but they use a loose definition. Creating an html page in a WYSIWYG, (What You See Is What You Get), or creating a page in Dreamweaver, front page, or even in Microsoft Word will create a page that has an html extension, so technically they are html pages. However, these pages created by programs contain so much extra and unnecessary or bad code, it is not recommended for use. Designers who use these programs will disagree of course, but for SEO, manually written html code is much cleaner and easier to optimize for the search engines. CSS is also easy to optimize with many claiming it is even better than just using html.

Internet Marketing Definition - Unlike Search Engine Marketing, Internet Marketing can be totally unrelated to SEO or search engine optimization. Internet marketing can include Affiliate Marketing, Email Marketing, and other ways of marketing your products and services on the Internet without even having to build a website. It can utilize PPC and drive traffic to a web page that was provided by the affiliate or network marketing program they are promoting. We can help you with your Internet Marketing Plan. Click here for a free seo consultaion or call us at 786-317-8774.

Keyword Definition - Identifying the keywords and phrases your business will target is very important. You need to identify your target audience and figure out what they type into the search engine to find what they are looking for and what you sell. There are a lot of tools that help you choose your keywords such as the Google Keywords Tool that will also give you some idea of the level of competition you will face for each keyword or phrase. It will also suggest related keywords and phrases you may not have thought of on your own. Once you identify your keyword list you wish to target, you then devise a strategy of using those keywords in the content of your website, title tags, file names, alt tags, and more. It is advised to create your keyword list before you even begin to design your website. We will help you build your keyword list. Call us at 786-317-8774.

Keyword Density Definition - This is an SEO term many people like to throw around. You can find SEO Gurus who say they know the optimal number or percentage of keywords that should appear on a page. One will say 15% and another will say 8% and everything in between and on both sides of those numbers. They each tell people they have the right formula. The truth is there is no set formula or percentage. Simply counting words on a page, then dividing that by the number of times a keyword appears does not account for other factors such as alt tags, title tags, and other SEO work that has been done. Code to Text Ratio also comes into play when determining how relevant a page is to your targeted key phrase. To make this even more interesting is the fact that Google and other search engines are gaining in the area of semantics. They can identify the relevance of a page to your targeted key phrase based on other words on the page and their relevance to your targeted key phrase. This allows us to write more for the user, rather than just stuffing your page with what someone says is the right number of keywords.

Keywords Meta Tag Definition - This meta tag is irrelevant according to some experts, but there is no real proof that all search engines ignore it. It certainly doesn't hurt to add the keywords meta tag to your web pages. You should only include keywords that you actually use in the content on the page. It isn't a wish list for all the terms you would like to rank for. The keywords in the meta tag need to be unique to each page and relevant to the content on that page. Keep it focused with no more than around 20 keywords for best results. SEO Service Provider will write unique title tags, description meta tags, and your keywords meta tag for each of your web pages for just $20 per page. Call us at 786-317-8774 for more information.

Landing Page Definition - A page that is designed for a particular marketing campaign such as an adwords campaign. Tracking code inserted into the page helps you analyze your ROI, (return on investment). You can track all of the results your ad campaign brings in and compare it with the conversions you make through the landing page. You should have a landing page written by a professional for best results. Our Content Writers will build landing pages for your ad campaign, including placing the tracking code and optimization for $100 per page. Call us at 786-317-8774 if you have questions.

Link Popularity Definition - This is the number of relevant links to your website. Not the total number of links. Each search engine has its own value it applies to different types of links. Link popularity directly affects how well your webpages rank in most search engines. SEO Service Provider can help you build more links to your website.

Longtail Keywords Definition - These are longer keyword phrases to target. There are usually fewer searches for longtail phrases, but they are more specific and can lead to a higher conversion rate when compared to shorter more general key phrases. Example; A moving company might be targeting the keyword moving, but much of the traffic they get by optimizing for that word may not be looking for a moving truck rental company. So the phrase moving truck rental or moving truck company will not bring in as many hits as the keyword moving alone, but the traffic you get from the longtail key phrase will bring you more relevant traffic. The cool thing is that you are still targeting the shorter phrase moving while optimizing for the longtail phrase.

Meta Tag Description Definition - Except in a few cases, what you write in the description meta tag is what shows up below your web page title when found in the search engine results page. You do not need keywords in the description, but if the keywords are helpful to the user, then they should be included. However the description should be almost the same as writing a small text ad. The purpose is to get people to click your link instead of one of the other links on that same search engine results page. One of the most overlooked advantages you can have here is to put your phone number into the description. A person can just call you and they don't even have to visit your web page. If part of your sales are made by phone, try putting that number into the description meta tag. SEO Service Provider will write unique title tags, description meta tags, and your keywords meta tag for each of your web pages for just $20 per page. Call us at 786-317-8774 for more information.

MSN AdCenter Definition - Pay-Per-Click Advertising through MSN. Works much like Google Adwords in that you create ads and bid on keywords that will cause them to display in MSN search results pages and MSN Live Search.

Natural or Organic Search Engine Ranking Definition - Relevant content and link popularity will help you rank in the organic search results of your favorite search engine. You do not pay for these listings. The search engine spiders simply list pages according to their relevance to a particular search term. SEO Service Provider will help you rank higher in the organic search engine results. Call us at 786-317-8774 or fill out the form here for a Free SEO Consultation.

Negative keywords Definition - Refers to a pay per click or pay for performance ad campaign. This is a list of keywords you do not want to trigger your ad to display. Any proper adwords campaign should utilize the negative keywords feature.

Off Page or Off Site SEO Definition - This refers to link building and other marketing done outside of your website. SEM or Search Engine Marketing is also another way of saying off site SEO.

On Page or On Site SEO Definition - This refers to optimizing the pages of your website and writing your website content. We write your keyword-rich content and optimize the code for you. Get a Free SEO Content Quote here or get a Free SEO Consultation here.

One Way Inbound Links Definition - These are links going to your website from other websites that you do not link back to. Linking back to those websites would make this a reciprocal link and would not have as much value as the one-way inbound link has. SEO Service Provider can help you build more links to your website.

Outbound Link Definition - Any link that causes the user to leave your website and go elsewhere when clicked.

PageRank Definition - Google PageRank is a way of appraising the value of the inbound links to your website. It is not based on just the number of inbound links but also the importance of the pages that link to you. It has little to do with how your website ranks in Google. A PR6 Webpage may not rank well for any of its targeted key phrases while a PR1 website might rank on the front page.

Paid Inclusion Definition - Some search engines or directories may charge you to have them index your website. Paid inclusion does not determine how well you will rank for your keywords. It only guarantees you will be added to their index or database.

Pay for Placement Definition - Also called Sponsored Links in a search engine or directory results page. You pay or bid for top placement on the results page.

Pay-For-Performance Advertising Definition - Almost the same as Pay=Per-Click advertising, but you only pay for traffic that converts to sales or to your predefined call to action. You pay more, but since it is based on perfor5mance, you know your ROI or return on investment already.

Pay-Per-Click Advertising Definition - You bid for keywords that will trigger your ad to display either on other websites or in the search engine results page. Each time someone clicks on your ad to visit your website, you are charged according to what you bid for the keyword that triggered the ad or less depending on how much your competitors bid on that same search phrase.

Payment Gateway or Payment Processing Service Definition - Services such as PayPal or ccBill that process credit card and other types of payments for you for a fee. The gateway is the interface they provide to users in order to help them process the order.

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Press Release Definition - Most people have a general idea of what a press release is, but this definition applies to how a press release is used as an SEO Tool or Internet Marketing Tool. Online Press Releases can be optimized for the search engines and can really help you get a lot of traffic to your website. Whatever you are writing about needs to be newsworthy for it to be really effective as an Internet Marketing Tool. Press Releases are not the cheapest way to market. While there are websites that claim to distribute your press releases for free, we do not recommend doing it. Free press release distribution has little value. You get what you pay for. Using PRWeb.com and choosing the $200 distribution level will get you much better results and get your press release into Google News and Yahoo News among other authoritative news websites. Article Content Provider.com can write your press release for you and handle the distribution through PRWeb.

Reciprocal Link Definition - This is where webmaster A links to webmaster B and in return, webmaster B links back to webmaster A. Useless as far as SEO is concerned but can be a good strategy if you believe that your visitors will find the other website useful and you feel that the visitors to the other website will find your link useful.

ROI or Return on Investment Definition - This is where you track how much you spend on a targeted campaign and compare it to how much you made in immediate conversions. That is the definition of strict ROI. You should also consider other values to the campaign such as branding your name, gaining new clients that will return to buy again, and overall presence on the web not to mention taking a little of the market share from your competitors. So when analyzing ROI, don't always consider a campaign that breaks even or even one that costs money as unsuccessful. McDonalds doesn't calculate the cost of their TV ads in one day and compare it to the number of french fries they sold.

Google Sandbox Definition - Like Santa Clause and the Tooth Fairy, it really exists. Your Website is not indexed by search engines? Let us help.

Search Engine Friendly Definition - A web page that is optimized to rank well for your targeted keywords.

SEM or Search Engine Marketing Definition - To really confuse everyone some people in the SEO industry coined the phrase search engine marketing. It is the name I would give SEO and Internet Marketing if they had a baby. Search Engine Marketer do SEO. SEO Professionals do Search Engine Marketing. Both do Internet Marketing. You figure that one out.

SEO or Search Engine Optimization Definition - Includes both onsite and offsite SEO. It refers to optimizing the code of webpages, writing optimized content for those pages, building link popularity for those webpages, and can even refer to managing your PPC campaign. Search Engine Marketing is just Internet Marketing with some SEO on the side or vice versa.

SERP Definition - Search Engine Results Page. When you type a phrase or keyword into a search engine it creates a page of relevant websites. That page is known as the SERP.
Web Directory Definition - Web Directories differ from search engines. Search engines crawl the web and pull web pages into their database and display links to those pages when they are relevant to what a user searches for. To be included in Web Directories, your website or web pages have to be submitted to them for inclusion. There are free web directories and there are many where you pay for inclusion. We manually submit your website to web directories for you. Click here for more information.

Website Promotion Definition - Website promotion is a very broad term that encompasses anything you do to promote your website including SEO, SEM, and Internet Marketing. However, it does have one unique quality the other terms do not cover and that is promoting your website in more traditional media offline such as TV and Radio Ads, Print Advertising, Bumper Stickers, Tshirts, Business cards, Stationary, Skywriting . . . Well you get the idea.

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Wiki Definition - A website or webpage designed so that users can edit the content. It creates a collaborative effort that is focused on user-generated content. Wikis enable users to share their knowledge and ideas easily.

WYSIWYG Definition (What You See Is What You Get) - HTML Editors like FrontPage and DreamWeaver are classified as WYSIWYG Editors. The temptation is that they are easy to use. The cost is that the code these programs generate is not optimized for search engine placement.

XHTML Definition - A hybrid of HTML and XML. It is stricter than HTML as a language. XML was created to describe content while html was created to display content. XHTML is a temporary solution that will display in both html and xml browsers.

XML Definition - eXtensible Markup Language is used to structure content in documents.

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